Lafayette

 

Gilbert_du_Motier_Marquis_de_Lafayette

LAFAYETTE

Romantique avant les Romantiques

Romantic before the Romantics

Aventurier avant d’être Révolutionnaire

Adventurer before Revolutionary

Démocrate et Royaliste

Democrat and Royalist

Célébré et Méconnu

Celebrated yet Unknown

LAFAYETTE

Méconnu en France, trop aristrocrate

Unknown in France, too aristocratic

Célébré aux Etats Unis, comme un héros

Celebrated in the United States, as a hero

Aventurier fortuné poussant les frontières,

Wealthy adventure seeker pushing frontiers

Il risqua sa vie pour une Terre inconnue.

He risked his life for an unknown land.

De son ami Washington,

Of his friend Washington

Il devint Général,

He became General

De son ami Washington,

Of his friend Washington

Il fut le fils

He was Son

LAFAYETTE

Washington_and_Lafayette_at_Mount_Vernon,_1784_by_Rossiter_and_Mignot,_1859

 

 

 

 

Published by

frenchrootsinamerica

I am still uncertain about the journey I am about to begin with this blog. However, Maribeth believes I should and can write one she believes I have something to say. We have a unique experience in discovering each other and sharing two great cultures: an old one, the French one, proud of its legacies; a new one, the American one, proud of its futures. The title, FrenchRootsinAmerica comes from the hoodies we found and bought on the internet: the symbolism and the beautiful blue, white and red tree growing up and out of French roots to give birth to the American tree. Now proud to be American, I cannot and will not deny my deep French roots. The most important thing is that this blog is designed to open doors and perspectives. Stay tuned!

10 thoughts on “Lafayette”

  1. I didn’t remember much about Lafayette from my school years, but then I read this picture book, Revolutionary Friends: General George Washington and the Marquis de Lafayette
    by Selene Castrovilla. Interesting that he was unknown in France.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading this post Elsie. Lafayette is known in France but has not been considered as Hero. He doesn’t have a sumptuous sarcophagus at the Invalides but a modest place at the cemetery of Picpus in Paris.

      Like

      1. Frank, I learned some things from your poem. Loved the format, the powerful ending. Your keen interest in history is serving you well! I am enjoying your writing, and I am grateful for tour comments on my blog, too.

        Like

      2. Lynne, thank you for sharing your feedback and encouragement on my Lafayette post. From you it means a lot because your level of expectations is always high. By the way I loved your use of metaphors in your last post.

        Like

  2. Thank you for this wonderful post. I was in Boston seven years ago on my first journey to the States and heard about him and other important people from the start of the U.S. history

    Liked by 1 person

      1. When we hear about great people from the past we can still believe that sometimes great people again will enter the scene at the right time and we we ourselves can raise up in character and be and example

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment